Whatever it takes

Just been dipping into “Shifting shadows of supernatural power”, by Julia Loren and this quote caught my eye:

“I decided that I was going to seek heaven until the day came that I could walk up to a dead person and touch him and watch him get up from the dead. That is what I decide to do. I decided that it doesn’t matter if I have to fast until I turn into a bone, I don’t care. If I have to pray 24 hours a day, I have to have the greater glory of God that it takes to change the world around me while I’m still alive. I’m going to have it. So that is what I did. I sought after that”.

It’s by a guy called David Hogan. I was disappointed to see lots of negative comments about him on the internet and it left me puzzled as to what to make of him. However, I am still inspired by the quote and confident in seeing God do what he did in the bible. I’ll let Julia tell the story:

“David Hogan, the rugged son of a Southern Baptist pastor of Louisiana, focuses his ministry among descendants of the Mayans deep in the jungles of Mexico. He launched out into ministry as a young zealous man with no ministry credentials or Bible college training. Along the way he discovered a way to increase the anointing of the power of God in his life. He, along with many other healers and powerbrokers, believes that the way to obtain more power is to abide in the presence of God through prayer and fasting and to remain childlike with a dependence on the word of God. During one conference Hogan said:

David Hogan

‘I went to the Bible and I began to find out from Genesis to Revelation, all the prayers in the Bible. I took them all and studied every one of them. I took them apart and studied them from every angle using commentaries. I wanted to know why, when the men of the Bible prayed, their words did not fall to the ground. Then I studied fasting. Because the two things that move heaven are prayer and fasting. If you can submit your soul in prayer, and your body in fasting, God hears you. So I looked through the Bible, and this is my opinion that I’m about to share with you. In my opinion the hardest thing I could come up with, the most difficult thing I could find in the Bible for God to do was once a human being is dead, to bring that person back to life again. So I decided that through the old covenant to the new, that there was a thread of God’s power that was in both covenants. And so I decided that I was going to seek heaven until the day came that I could walk up to a dead person and touch him and watch him get up from the dead. That is what I decide to do. I decided that it doesn’t matter if I have to fast until I turn into a bone, I don’t care. If I have to pray 24 hours a day, I have to have the greater glory of God that it takes to change the world around me while I’m still alive. I’m going to have it. So that is what I did. I sought after that.’

Over the years Hogan has prayed for many people who died physically and saw the miraculous power of God restore them to life. He knows the power of the cross condemns him to victory and stands in the full confidence of the Lord.

She relates one of his stories:

‘So I get inside the house and there are two or three candles burning. The first thing I see is a woman in the middle of the dirt floor, holding something, rocking back and forth, and screaming. Her nine-year-old son’s body is stretched out. He has been dead for four hours. I looked over by her right side, and there were two black magic warlocks standing there. Standing next to them were two spiritist healers. To elders in the town were also there. They hate Jesus – they are antichrists. There were many daemons there.

So what should you do? Pray, believe, receive, what? Scriptures from the old and new Testament began to go through my mind about how different people were raised from the dead. I didn’t know what to do because no one had written a book about this, except the Bible. I now know that the Bible is the only book I need for this kind of situation. I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t have a direct command from God. I did not have an angelic visitation, I finger writing on the wall. I didn’t even have a bird chirping. I had two black magic warlock’s, two spiritist healers, to antichrists and all of them were chanting evil spells against me!

If I were a typical American, I would think the spiritual “airwaves” are not clean, so I can’t pray. Praise the Lord. If I were to wait for the “spiritual airwaves” to be clean, I would never pray! I do “pioneer” work. A Christian has ever prayed there before. So all the “airwaves” are polluted by the Demon powers. Why do you think we have the Holy Spirit? There is not a devil big enough to stop Jesus! That is the truth. Your emotions do not have any authority in the situation. Don’t listen to your emotions or you will always be in trouble. What the devil says – whether it is in your mind, or spirit, or what you are seeing or feeling or tasting or touching – has no authority over what the word of God says. What those warlocks were saying had no power over the word of God. They cannot – cannot – stop heaven.

I remembered what Jesus did. Scriptures began to run through my mind. I thought to myself, “Jesus probably did it right.” The mother had gone back into a corner and was whimpering. I have my hand on the boy’s head, and my big hands usually cover up their little heads. Then I decided to see if he was only half dead. Maybe I could find a faint heartbeat, that would be easier! I looked all over the boy for the faintest heartbeat, a pulse, and there was nothing. So I said “he must be all the way dead.”

So I began praying for him. I prayed in English. That didn’t work. I prayed in Spanish. Uh-oh, that didn’t work. I prayed in Indian. Uh-oh, that didn’t work. I prayed in “tongues.” Uh-oh, that didn’t work. That was all of the languages as I knew. What should I do? I told you already, I can’t give the credit to anything but the name of Jesus. I can feel God’s spirit of me now and I feel like he is carrying me away. I think I was so nervous that I was praying a few words in one language and then another. But in every language, the name of Jesus was there, and that is what is important. How long? I have no idea. I know that I began to sweat a lot, but it was a hot night, around 38°C at 11 o’clock at night. I was praying and sweating and holding onto the little boy’s arm. He was stiff and sticky, and had lost all of his colour. He was whiter than I am and usually they are almost black.

Suddenly, while I was praying – the little boy was wearing a T-shirt – the father and I saw the T-shirt bounce. I looked at the father and his eyes were as big as mine, because he saw it also. But the Devils are still standing there chanting. They are still angry and cursing God and me and everyone else. For some reason, that didn’t bother the Holy Spirit. What you think of that? The holy spirit came into the room, thumps the heart of that little boy and made it work again. In a few minutes, his little arm became limp. And then – listen – the colour came back into him. He became warm again. Wow! Some of you may be thinking “David, you should calm down!” But you are wrong! Maybe tomorrow, because today is the day of salvation, just like when Jesus was raised from the dead. Today is a day of power and resurrection. Today is a day of glory! Today is the day of visitation.

I don’t know why God came into the room and through me, or however he did it, to heal that boy. I don’t feel qualified or adequate. I don’t feel like I have enough Bible knowledge. But that doesn’t seem to bother the Holy Spirit if I feel that way, as long as I call on the name of Jesus in faith. As long as I believe that “all things whatever you ask in prayer, believing, you shall receive.” That is what I believe. That is what the Bible says. Listen to me. I didn’t know what to do next, because his eyes opened and he looked at me. Almost all of the children are afraid of me because I am so big to them. But this little boy was in perfect peace. I picked him up – this is wonderful – this little boy who was alive, who was dead for a little over 4 1/2 hours.’

Wow.

Leave a Reply

