A great verb (Learning a little Greek part 11)

I’m going to learn another verb. It’s got the good old familiar Omega endings. It’s “I heal“. What a great verb θεραπευω. I think it’s pronounced “therap-you-ow” as it has an ευ diphthong as in “deuce” and “feud”. It’s a long one but it does have the helpful English aid-de-memoir of “therapy“. If I get this under my belt it will take my total count of memorized verbs (for present, indicative, active) to a colossal 4!

…Done! It was a lot easier to learn the Greek for this verb than to do it in real life. Please Lord Jesus stretch out your hand to heal!! Hey, let’s look at that verse. (Just found a way of getting Unicode out of BibleWorks by going to tools, options, fonts, check export fonts and check the Unicode box after the “Greek” font option. Cool. Here is the result:

ἐν τῷ τὴν χεῖρά σου ἐκτείνειν σε εἰς ἴασιν, καὶ σημεῖα καὶ τέρατα γίνεσθαι διὰ τοῦ ὀνόματος τοῦ ἁγίου παιδός σου Ἰησοῦ. Acts 4:30

Oh, bible works crashed and reset my ini file and asked me to re-register. That’s a bit harsh. And looking at the Greek text once again there is no duck in the cage again. ἴασιν, which means “cure” is used instead. And it’s a noun. Mmmm.

Ok, I’m not giving up this time. I’m going to find θεραπευω if it’s the last thing I do. Ok….arg… I can’t seem to paste the Greek back into bible works so I’ll type it……No θεραπευω in the NT apparently. Still, if at first you don’t succeed… No θεραπευεις either but, Ah, what’s this?  I think I’ve got a nibble from θεραπευει. Reeling it in it’s Luke 6:7. Let’s see if BibleWorks crashes again:

Luke 6:7 παρετηροῦντο δὲ αὐτὸν οἱ γραμματεῖς καὶ οἱ Φαρισαῖοι εἰ ἐν τῷ σαββάτῳ θεραπεύει, ἵνα εὕρωσιν κατηγορεῖν αὐτοῦ.

Can you see it? I feel more like I’m pond dipping than trout fishing at the moment. There is a lot of murkiness but unless I am very much mistaken it’s there. The 13th word θεραπεύει  : “he/she/it (singular) heal”. The Pharisees were watching Jesus to “see if he healed on the Sabbath“.  But hang on, that’s past tense isn’t it? About the only thing I knew about my Greek verbs was that they were present tense. Yes, bible works says it’s “indicative, future, active, third person singular“. Mmmm.  Could it be to do with the accents? There are none over the word in my “Elements of New Testament Greek” vocab. And why is there an acute accent (I am still using my graveyard picture) over the ….Oh, bible works has crashed again. Goodbye bible works. I am seriously thinking of getting Logos now. How much is it? I could get it for Christmas….anyway I was going to say : Why is there no acute accent over the last Iota in θεραπεύει in the Bibleworks view window. It is there in the exported Unicode text for some reason.

So, my attempt to find one of my verbs in the bible was only partially successful and as usual left me with more questions than answers and with a reinitialised BibleWorks.

Seriously though, if I am to risk life and limb learning NT Greek I need equipment I can rely on. A friend of mine has Logos Bible Software really and raves about it so let’s take a look.

See here for an intro http://www.logos.com/basepackages# to Logos and here is the BibleWorks site http://www.bibleworks.com.

Bible works 8 (I have 7) is $349  but there is an upgrade for $150. That’s a no brainer. I need to upgrade. Maybe it doesn’t like running on vista 64bit. Logos 4 Original Languages LE sells for $332 with the silver LE at $800.

Ah, Bibleworks 8 has a unicode font and more Greek docs and utils.

From what people say online, BibleWorks’ strength is working with the original languages and looking up words. Logos is more focused on building up a library of books and indexing into them but it does also have some great language features. I think the obvious answer is to get both, starting with upgrading my BibleWorks.

BTW  I still use WORDSearch 5 on my laptop and love it’s speed and simplicity http://www.wordsearchbible.com/.

5th Dec 2010 – BGT has present tense for heal in Luke 6:7 and BYZ text has future tense so my confusion is just due to a textual variant.

 

2 thoughts on “A great verb (Learning a little Greek part 11)

  1. Marcus,
    You mention upgrading to BW8, which may very well provide the tech issue that causes BW to crash. But if you give our tech support a call — 1-888-747-8200 — they may be able to figure out the issue and provide an answer so your system doesn’t crash. Another way to reach tech support is email service@bibleworks.com.

    Hope that helps.

    Jim

  2. I was amazed at the speed of the response to my problem from BibleWorks and my problem was quickly sorted by installable the latest service pack. I am now enjoying exporting Greek unicode. I did also eventually also get Logos and I now use them together. Bibleworks is faster for looking up and interacting with the original languages and Logos gives me (as well as great language support) masses of help in study a particular passage.

Leave a Reply

