A nice warm bath (Learning a little Greek part 14)

I had a few mins spare to have a nice warm bath so I turned on the taps and took Elements of NT Greek off the shelf. Soaking in the steamy water had a sedating effect on my mind settling my nerves so I could lean the meanings of the terms “active” and “indicative”. (Like when you have some sort of invasive procedure at the hospital and they have to sedate you so that you don’t squirm and run away.)

Anyway, it wasn’t too painful. “Indicative” is when a statement is being made or a question is being asked as opposed to a hypothetical or possible situation. “I throw the ball” and “I throw the ball?” rather than  “I could throw the ball” or “if I throw the ball” which are “subjunctive”. Another “Mood” is “imperative” which is a command “throw the ball!”.

“Active” means that the subject of the sentence is doing the thing rather than having it done to him. “I throw the ball” rather than “The ball throws me” where the verb in the Greek would be passive. Active and passive describe the “voice” of a verb.

Here is a summary of the voice and mood of a verb:

MOODS

1) indicative      statement or question                “I throw”, “I throw?”

2) imperative   command or exportation           “throw the ball”, “let the ball be thrown”

3) subjunctive  a wish or doubtful assertion     “In order that the ball be thrown”, “I would throw the ball”

4) infinitive        without reference to person or thing. a verbal noun. “to throw”

VOICE

1) Active         the subject acts                        “I throw the ball”

2) Passive        the subject is acted upon    “the ball throws me”

I won’t bother learning them all right now though.

Leave a Reply

