You can quote me on that (part 10)

A few more quotes that caught my attention> I thought I’d add a few comments about them this time:

Parents: Shouting to make your children obey you is like using the horn to steer your car, and you get about the same results. PJ Smyth

(me – I totally agree. I don’t think I have ever shouted at my kids)

Faith is the eye to see the unseen. Physical optics are not the instrument to see God. He is a Spirit. Human eyes are too weak to discern “the invisible God, the King eternal, immortal, invisible” (Col 1:15; 1 Tim 1:17). We have to deal with Him as He is. “He who comes to God must believe that He is…” (Hebrews 11:6). Trust Him. REINHARD BONNKE

(me – I can see God healing people with the eye of faith. I just know he is going to. “Seeing is believing” is actually more true of the eye of faith than the natural eye.).

Whatever poison Satan produces, God turns into medicine for his elect Calvin.

( me – I love this way of putting it. One of my top 10 favorite words is “superintend”. What some intend for evil, God intends for good. God works everything for the good of those that love him. I was with someone recently who is facing some great health challenges with this truth deep in his heart. It’s so true!)

Dads: a recent survey says that Dad’s spend 3 mins per day talking to their kids and 3 hrs watching TV. PJ Smyth

(me – I’ve been keeping track of how I spend my time this week and was pleasantly surprised at how much I have been able to spend with my family. I live with a constant desire to be with them more so it felt like much less.)

Parents: Tell your kids: I love you when you are good. I love you when you are naughty. I love you all time. PJ Smyth

(me – more great advice. I never want to miss an opportunity to tell them how much I love them.)

If the great things of religion are rightly understood, they will affect the heart. Jonathan Edwards

(me – my brother told me this quote many years ago and I have never forgot it. These last few months though have seen an increasing experience of it.)

We may speak very boldly and very positively when we speak in His name. If you have any doubt about what you are going to preach, do not preach till you have gotten rid of your doubts. If you have smoke in your room, do not ask your friend in—enjoy it yourself if you like it, but, until the chimney has been swept and the air has been purified—do not invite visitors. Doubts about this doctrine and that had better not be brought forward by us—we certainly cannot expect to do any good by what we, ourselves, do not believe! We must preach that which we are sure is true because we dare set the hand and seal of Christ to it as the very Truth of God which He has made us to know by the effectual working of His Holy Spirit. Spurgeon on preaching truth

(me – When I preach I want to stir faith through a confident conviction in the truth. That’s why I agonise for hours over each small point of doctrine. If I am nor sure I read and pray until I am or step back until I am confident of the bigger picture. I like blogging as I can be more exploratory in my communons. )

Royalty is my identity. Servanthood is my assignment. Intimacy with God is my life source. billjohnsonBJM

(me – I love these short pithy statements by  Bill Johnson. I’m off to enjoy intimacy with God right now! )

2 thoughts on “You can quote me on that (part 10)

  1. Hey, would you be able to point me to which sermon the PJ quotes are from. I heard it a while ago and want to listen to it again. Thanks, Ben

Leave a Reply

