From strength to strength (Pursuing and prizing the presence of God Part 7)

I have already seen in verse 5 of Psalm 84 that there is a strength to be found in prizing the Lord Jesus in my heart as the way to God. Verse 7 builds upon that truth:

Psalm 84:7  They go from strength to strength;

each one appears before God in Zion.

If verse5  gave me the starting point and the velocity, this verse gives me the end point and the acceleration. Not only do I find a supernatural strength as I pursue the presence of God but I actually get stronger and stronger. It ‘s not like physical exersion where you eventually run out of steam. The more I seek God the stronger I get and my destination remains certain. As I seek God I will increasingly experience his presence; Now by the Spirit, when I die and go to be with Jesus, and in the new heavens and new earth when the presence of God will light up the world.

Rather than be snuffed out or worn down, the person who pursues and prizes the presence of God will go from strength to strength. If you want to be with God you will be with God. There is the assurance here that nothing can keep us from the presence of God. We will defiantly “appear before God in Zion”.

Paul knew this:

Romans 8:35-39  Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written,

“For your sake we are being killed all the day long;

we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (ESV)

The presence of God I’m after is all about knowing his love. There are other sense the bible talks about the presence of God but they are not good ones! Jesus death and resurrection mean that I will never experience the presence of God to punish, but only to bless me to do me good. His wrath against me was exhausted and extinguished on the cross. There is simply none left for me! Now, rather than run away from him, as Adam tried to do by hiding in the bushes of Eden, or wishing, as many will do when Jesus comes again, that the mountains would cover them, I run towards him with increasing speed. Those that seek him with all their heart will jump into his arms on that final day. My body may be a little worse for wear but my spirit will leap.

Leave a Reply

