Home James (The Key of David part 5)

We are looking to get a pet soon. One of my daughters really wants a dog and even though I’m not a dog person but when I see pictures of puppies needing homes something in me almost gives in. But it’s not just dogs that need homes. We need a home. A place to live that is safe, where we belong and are loved.

When we came back from holiday last year I remember writing our address on our cases to ensure that even if they got placed on the wrong plane they would eventually end up at our house. When Jesus said to the Christians in Philadelphia “I have the key of David” he was claiming to be able to give access to the new city of Jerusalem. He promised to write this destination on them to ensure they got there. They may have been locked out of their current crumbling city, but they belonged to an eternal glorious one. In fact Jesus says that as pillars they would be part of its very structure. That reminds me of something Peter wrote:

As you come to him, a living stone rejected by men but in the sight of God chosen and precious, you yourselves like living stones are being built up as a spiritual house… (ESV) 1 Peter 2:4-5

The world is crumbing away. I don’t want to be overconfident about my ability to overcome death, or party and make the best of it right now but accept Jesus’ offer of a new and better home. What will it be like? John gets a glimpse at the end of his vision:

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

   And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment. The one who conquers will have this heritage, and I will be his God and he will be my son.” (ESV) Rev 21:1-7

So, it’s a new city; a happy pain free city with no tears, no need for A&E, NSPCC or LSD and it is the place where God and man dwelling together forever. The believers at Philadelphia would never have to go outside of this city due to earthquakes, attack, famine or disease. It would be safe and sound.  It’s my home too. The place I am loo0king for and the place where I belong.

For here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come. (ESV) Heb 13:14

“Home James and don’t spare the horses!”

Leave a Reply

