Back after a break from blogging

It’s been a while since I last blogged and there are tones if things I want to write about. I have been studying the trinity for a few weeks and I want to summaries some of that. I have been treading water a bit in learning Greek and I want to say a bit about how that feels. I think it’s time to shape up my notes on Rob Bells book “love wins” as I’ve been asked about it a few times now, and I have notes on some youtube clips on healing and evolution to tidy up and post.

I’d also like to document progress on healing, blog my last preach on the bowls of wrath, and another on “walking away from a lukewarm life” and I really must get on with my blogging through the bible. I think now though as I’m eating my lunch I will watch some more of Bill Mounce’s excellent talks on learning NT Greek. I am stuck on the third declension as there are so many different forms of it. The more time I spend learning them the more I forget of everything else. Oh and can anybody help me with this:

τί με λέγεις ἀγαθόν; οὐδεὶς ἀγαθὸς εἰ μὴ εἷς ὁ θεός.

The correct translation is:

“Why do you call me good. No-one is good but God alone”.

My question is why is it “God alone” and not ” the one God”, or “the God who is one”? The clue in the textbook is ” θεός is in apposition to εἷς “. What does that mean? I have probably covered it somewhere but must have forgotten.

I would also like to continue the two outstanding debates that I stated blogging on. Taunton Vs Hitchens and Blair vs Hitches.

One thought on “Back after a break from blogging

  1. Got some great advice as follows:

    A simple apposition is where you have 2 adjacent substantives (substantive = something that can act as noun – usually noun or participle combos) in the same case which refer to the same thing. The first substantive is the main thing and the second piggy-backs on it to give more info about the first. eg Ἰωάννης ὁ βαπτιστὴς = john [that is] the Baptist, or Καϊάφαν τὸν ἀρχιερέα = Caiaphas [who was] the high priest

    in your sentence ὁ θεός is in apposition to εἷς – it gives more info about the only one who is good ie that it is God

    Think of it as if there is a comma after εἷς and it will make sense. lit: “no one is good except one, God.” ie ‘no one is good except one [namely] God’ which in english sounds more natural as ‘no one is good except God alone’

    if he wanted to say ‘God, who is one’ the order would have to be reversed so that εἷς was in apposition to ὁ θεός – ie ὁ θεός εἷς as the first substantive is the main thing in view.

    it can’t be ‘the one God’ as there is article only on θεός and not on εἷς – for εἷς to function as an adjective with θεός it will need an article as in ὁ X ὁ Y

    also I’d leave the 3rd decl if you are still stuck and press on with other stuff – it will be much easier when you come back to it later and you can get onto lots of other stuff sooner. you can manage with 1st and 2nd nouns and knowing that there are 3rd’s but not having mastered them for ages and ages – press on to verbs etc!

Leave a Reply

