How wise!

Tonight’s bedtime story was about Kings Solomon. He asked God for wisdom and pretty soon had a tricky situation to sort out. Two women both claimed that a baby was theirs. King Solomon ordered the baby be cut in two and half given to each woman. The real mother revealed herself by begging that the baby be given to the other women instead. How wise! (BTW I’m sure it was a bluff, God bluffs too like with Abraham and Isaac. Remember “Call my bluff”? Frank Muir was so cool in it). Solomon then thanks God for telling him what to do (not sure if that bit is in the real story or not).

The children’s bible we were reading it from then asked a few questions. How Solomon knew what to say. The answer was supposed to be that God told him.

The next question asked if we wanted to ask God for wisdom to make wise decision in our own life. Of course we did. Hear endeth the lesson. All well and good. But where is Jesus in that? Did Jesus have to skip that bit when he showed his disciples how the Old Testament was really about himself?

I therefore posed another problem. I have done bad things. God is good and should rightly punish my sin. To not do so would mean he is not good. Yet God loves me and wants the best for me. How can he solve that problem? It seems even harder than the one facing Solomon. Well, he did it by placing my sin on his son and punishing him in my place. Love and Justice are both satisfied. How wise!

1 Cor 1:24  …Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. (ESV)

BTW, I spoke recently on Isaiah 66:2b talking about someone who trembles at God’s word. I wanted to highlight that the bible is not about us. To do that I used something I found on the internet a while back and blogged on. Below is a version with some of my typos sorted out.

Is the bible basically about you and what you should do or about Jesus and what he has done?

Is David and Goliath basically about you and how you can be like David and Goliath, or about him, the one who really took on the only giants that can kill us. And his victory is imputed to us.

The bibles not about you!

Jesus is the true and better Adam who passed the test in the garden (his garden, a much tougher garden) and whose obedience is imputed to us.

Jesus is the true and better Abel who though innocently slain has blood that cries out not for our condemnation but for our equital

Jesus is the true and better Abraham who answered the call of God to leave all the comfortable and familiar and go into the void not knowing wither he went.

Jesus is the true and better Isaac who was not just sacrificed by his father on the mount but was truly sacrificed for us all. God said to Abraham now I know that you love me because you did not withhold your son, your only son, whom you love from me. Now, we at the foot of the cross, can say to God, now we know that you love me because you did not with hold your son, your only son whom you love from me.

Jesus is the true and better Jacob, who wrestled and took the blow of Justice we deserve so we like Jacob only receive the wounds of grace to wake us up and discipline us.

Jesus is the true and better Joseph who is at the right had of the king and forgives those who betrayed and sold him and uses his power to save them.

Jesus is the true and better Moses who stands in the gap between the people and the Lord and mediates a new and better covenant

Jesus is the true and better Rock of Moses who struck with the rod of God’s justice, now gives us water in the dessert

Jesus is the true and better Job. He is the truly innocent sufferer who then intercedes for and save his friends.

Jesus is the true and better David whose victory becomes his peoples victory though they never lifted a stone to accomplish it themselves.

Jesus is the true and better Ester who didn’t just risk losing an earthly palace but lost the ultimate heavenly one. Who didn’t just risk his life but gave his life. Who didn’t just say “if I perish, I’ll perish” but “when I perish I’ll perish for them so save my people”

Jesus is the true and better Jonah who was cast out in the storm so that we could be brought in.

He’s the real Passover lamb, he’s the true temple, the true prophet, the true priest, the true king, the true sacrifice, the true lamb, the true light the true bread.

The bibles not about you!

Leave a Reply

