Stopped in my tracks again

I know my Greek blogs are getting a big boring so I wont do many more. I’ll start Hebrew soon.  But let me just share yet another word that has got me stumped. What on earth does προσήνεγκαν mean? The προς tells me it’s some sort of compound verb, and he καν indicates a μι aorist but what is the word? Looking it up turns out I’ve been tripped up again by a word with multiple roots. φερω has three roots:

present:*φερ ie φέρω

future: *οἰ ie οἰσω

aorist: *ἐνεκ ie ἤνεγκα

*ενεκ (zero grade)> ενκ (reduplication)> ενενκ (ν becomes γ)> ενεγκ (reduplicated ε augments)> ηνεγκ

Not sure what happens then to get ἤνεγκα. I wondered if a tense formative σα was added an then no ending as in 1sg 1st aorist, but that would give ηνεγκσα > ηνεγξα. The ending would be α is it was a liquid verb ending in λ,μ,ν or ρ (remember : LMNOP).

perfect: *ενεκ (ablaut)> ενοκ (consonantal and vocalic reduplication)> ενενοκ > ενηνοκ (κ aspirated)> ενηνοχα. It’s a second perfect and so uses tense formative α not κα in perfect active (page 227 BBG) so the α is not a problem this time.

Leave a Reply

