More on Metallica

Metallica recently headlined at Glastonbury. Having been intrigued by their lyrics and style (and, ok I admit it, a past love of their music) I am finding out a bit more about their lead singer. I have already realised that, as with most people, there is more to him than meets the eye and was amazed to find out that a few years ago James Hetfield took part in a film about Fatherhood. James’ own Father left him when he was 13, without even saying goodbye. Here is James talking about it. And here is an article about it.

The documentary is directed by Justin Hunt who goes to Central Christian Church in Mesa, ArizHis motivation for making the film came from his faith but he says the film itself is not religious.

One of the things that got me thinking about Metallica was their lyrics. Why would someone write this sort of thing?

Dear Mother
Dear Father
Hidden in your world you’ve made for me
I’m seething
I’m bleeding
Ripping wounds in me that never heal
Undying spite I feel for you
Living out this hell you always knew

Full lyrics here

At this point I was not quite sure of the meaning of the lyrics except that they seem to express a great deal of anger towards parents. I was soon to hear James talk more about those lyrics and what was behind them.

 

Leave a Reply

