Slartibartfast

Slartibartfast, the Magrathean planet designer in hitchhikers guide to the galaxy :

“Perhaps I’m old and tired but I always think that the chances of finding out what is really going on are so absurdly remote that the only thing to do is to say ‘hang the sense of it and keep yourself occupied. Look at me, I design coast lines. I got an award for Norway. Where is the sense in that. None that I can work out.”

So is he right? Are the chances of finding out what the purpose of life so “Absurdly remote” its best just to keep yourself busy and not think about it?

I love designing planets as much as the next man but I also happen to think that it is good to wonder why we are here and what it’s all about. And I think we can find out too (with the help of a little revelation).

26 And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place, 27 that they should seek God, and perhaps feel their way toward him and find him. Yet he is actually not far from each one of us, Acts 17:26–27 (ESV)

Even if we don’t think about why the world exists, we will be living out our answers. Anyway here is a planet I made:

Screenshot 2015-10-05 22.46.42

I haven’t won an award for it though 😦

3 thoughts on “Slartibartfast

  1. I like your planet design, the colours are soft and peaceful. It is good to note the absence of telegraph poles and wires; not much demand for that sort of thing on any planet!!

Leave a Reply

