Faith in action

 

One of the headings in my book says “Both were touched”. The section is about the power of Jesus’ touch to bring about healing to a dead girl and a sick woman. Actually, while Jesus did touch the woman, it was more that she touched him. She pressed through the crowd and reached out to touch the tip of the hem of his garment.

Interestingly enough, people say the hem was probably blue because:

37 The LORD said to Moses, 38 “Speak to the people of Israel, and tell them to make tassels on the corners of their garments throughout their generations, and to put a cord of blue on the tassel of each corner. 39 And it shall be a tassel for you to look at and remember all the commandments of the LORD, to do them, not to follow after your own heart and your own eyes, which you are inclined to whore after. 40 So you shall remember and do all my commandments, and be holy to your God. 41 I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt to be your God: I am the LORD your God.” Numbers 15:37–41 (ESV)

648px-heb_cover_hi

The blue dye came from snails. Apparently 12,000 snails produced a thimbleful. That made it very expensive! The colour was associated with royalty and authority. Anyway, some now connect the colour blue with healing. I just liked the look of it, hence my blue book cover, but it’s kind of appropriate.

singlepagecover2websmall 
No snails were crushed in the production of this book

But I digress. The point is that this woman’s faith was commended by Jesus and through it she was made well. The question for us is, what does it look like for us to “reach for healing”? It may look different for each one of us. The important thing is the expectation that says:

“If only I touch his cloak, I will be healed”. Matthew 9:21

… or whatever we are looking to Jesus to help us with. I love Phil Moore’s point that God is more interested in faith, than that we get the specific outworking of it completely correct. The thing is though, that faith will “look like” something. Faith always has an active component. God did not go to all the trouble of making space and time for something as important as faith to be invisible. It can be seen. James says, “I’ll show you my faith by my deeds” (James 2:18).

One of the possible covers of the book, which I rejected in the end, had a hand reaching out to touch Jesus’ garment. I even photographed myself in a blanket to get some rough references for it. In the end though, I’m really pleased with the final cover of many hands reaching out together.

It’s been so good to see my book finally in the hands of people in the church. My prayer is that God will use it to raise faith so that not just one or two, but hundreds of us will be stepping out with fresh expectation and robust faith for God to heal.

Leave a Reply

